Standard DUI Laws

When you are looking at many states, you will find that they are quite strict when it comes to the use and distribution of alcohol. Have you ever looked at the laws with an alameda dui lawyer? They are really hard to get around and it can be difficult to figure out what is going on

alameda dui lawyer

A charge of DUI cannot be filed without knowledge of the accused’s Blood Alcohol Content, or BAC (it can also be called Blood Alcohol Concentration, also BAC, or Blood Alcohol Level, also called BAL). A completely accurate BAC is only able to be found with a blood test (breathalyzer tests are mostly accurate, but not as exact as a blood test).  Your BAC is, simply, the percentage of alcohol in your blood. Of age drivers cannot have a BAC over .08%.

When it comes to what your punishments will be for a DUI, let’s look at the standards that Texas has.

·    1st offense:  up to 1 year prison time or $600 to $2100 fine (does not need to be both), 90 day license suspension

·    2nd offense: 30 days mandatory prison time, up to 1 year prison time or 30+ days community service, $1,100 to $5,100 fine, 1 year license suspension,

·    3rd offense: 60 days to 1 year prison time (60 days is required), $2,100 to $10,000 fine, 3 year license suspension.

·    4th offense: Texas considers the 4th offense of DUI to be a felony. It carries a $4,100 to $10,100 fine, imprisonment from 1 year, 1 day to 10 years with a 1 year, 1 day minimum. You are also required to go through a rehabilitation program, and their license is suspended for 5 years.

The severity of punishments does not seem to differ for those who are underage, but the BAC cannot be above 0.0 for someone who is not of age.